ORANGUTAN- اورنگوٹان

Orangutan in Lisbon Zoo, Portugal
Orangutan in Jardim Zoológico de Lisboa, Portugal

The orangutans (also spelled orang-utan, orangutang, or orang-utang) are the two exclusively Asian species of extant great apes. Native to Indonesia and Malaysia, orangutans are currently found in only the rainforests of Borneo and Sumatra. Classified in the genus Pongo, orangutans were considered to be one species. However, since 1996, they have been divided into two species: the Bornean orangutan (P. pygmaeus) and the Sumatran orangutan (P. abelii). In addition, the Bornean species is divided into three subspecies. Based on genome sequencing, the two extant orangutan species evidently diverged around 400,000 years ago. The orangutans are also the only surviving species of the subfamily Ponginae, which also included several other species, such as the three extinct species of the genus Gigantopithecus, including the largest known primate Gigantopithecus blacki. The ancestors of the Ponginae subfamily split from the main ape line in Africa 16 to 19 million years ago (mya) and spread into Asia (pics: in Jardim Zoológico de Lisboa, Portugal).

اورنگوٹان بن مانس کے خاندان سے تعلق رکھنے والا ایک بندر ہے جو ایشیا میں ملائیشیا اور انڈونیشیا میں پایا جاتا ہے تاہم اب اس کی آبادی انڈونیشیا کے جزائر سماٹرا اور بورنیو میں تک محدود ہو چکی ہے۔

اورنگوٹان اپنی زندگی کا بیشتر حصہ درختوں پر گزارتے ہیں۔ان کے سارے جسم پر سرخی مائل بھورے بال ہوتے ہیں جو کہ انکو بقیہ بندروں اور بن مانسوں سے ممتاز کرتے ہیں۔ انکی خوراک کا بیشتر حصہ پھلوں پر مشتمل ہےتاہم یہ سبزیاں کیڑے مکوڑے اور پرندوں کے انڈے تک کھا لیتے ہیں۔

انکی اوسط عمر تیس سال ہے۔

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: